Ticket to Fly

My friend texted me this morning letting me know she was headed to Chicago to pick up her daughter, who was coming home from a long vacation abroad. As a mother, I know there is always a bit of nervousness when you realize your child is thousands of feet in the air. It got me thinking about flying. I used to take flying lessons years ago, and quite frankly I love to fly. I’ve flown several times this year. I love the airports, the adventure ahead of me, just the amazement of being able to travel so far in such a short period of time. I love leaving Illinois in the winter and stepping off the plane in sunny Florida in 3 hours. My daughter lives there; did I say how smart she is?  Yes, this mom is glad she didn’t move to Alaska.  When I travel, I like to travel light. I figure there is always a Walmart around for necessities. I don’t want to wait around to pick up my luggage, drag it through the airport and into the bathroom. You can’t leave anything unattended anymore. It’s just a pain and it slows me from reaching my destination, so I just leave that baggage behind. This got me to thinking; If I really want to enjoy this journey called life, do I want to drag a bunch of baggage around with me? I know that some of my baggage is past hurts. We all have those along the way. We need to forgive those who have wronged us and leave that baggage behind so we can move forward. Freedom is what we are looking for here. We don’t deny that we have been hurt, nor am I saying to trust that person again. Sometimes we must distance ourselves from the offenders. By forgiving you are just saying to the offender that you are releasing them from any hatred and grudges from you; that they owe you nothing. Try to be like our Father’s example. It’s not easy, but we can do it with His help and leave that baggage of past hurt behind. Forgiveness and distance is the ticket to your freedom.

WP_20140924_08_13_47_Pro

Leave a Reply

