GET OUT OF YOUR CORNER!

One of my favorite movies, as a little girl, was Cinderella. Not the animated version, but Rogers and Hammersteins broadway version. The moment that impacted me most was when Cinderella sat in her chair and sang “In my own little corner, in my own little chair, I can be whatever I want to be”. I would get my own chair, put it in the corner of my room and sing that song over and over, dreaming about all of the things I wanted to do and be. The thing I didn’t notice until I was much older and watching with my daughter, was that none of Cinderella’s dreams came true until she got out of that chair, put on the glass slippers and trusted her Fairy Godmother. She had to step out of her comfort zone, afraid and a little intimidated I might add.

Cinderella had to get out of her corner dreamland, stop just talking about the things she wanted to accomplish and be a DOER not just a DREAMER. Do you ever think that God is trying to get us out of our own comfortable corner? Out of our constant state of sitting and dreaming and into a state of doing? He wants us out of our corner, moving forward in faith to take steps, with Him, towards accomplishing all that we dream and desire.

If we don’t put on the glass slipper and trust Him fully, we will never do those things He created us to do on this earth. We need to be “doers” of the word. How can we expect to ever help others if we don’t do the do’s ourselves?

I am reminded, frequently (thanks Deb), that I need to do what God’s word says in Habakkuk 2 and write down the vision, i.e. my dreams, desires, wants…Keep that list in front of me and take steps forward, every day, towards those goals. How can God use me if I don’t? How can He use me to impact His Kingdom if I don’t? I certainly understand that life can be scary. All you have to do is watch t.v. or read the paper to see that.

However, we still have to move! Even and especially when we are afraid. The enemy is pleased when he can keep us in our corner; but we serve a big God who goes before us to pave the way and remove any obstacle that might be set against us. He is with us every step of the way! So get out of your corner! Move and know that God’s plan for your life is the best plan. He will take you places you could never have imagined, even from your own little corner in your own little chair. Trust Him, put on your glass slippers (the whole armor of God) and step forward!

-Michelle

Leave a Reply

