Choose Happy!

Written by Kaitlyn Van Wynen

 

Choosing to be happy everyday can sometimes be more than a challenge. It’s difficult to see the “happy” in your life when you’re broke or you’re lonely or when someone has hurt you. However the fact of the matter is that being unhappy is going to make whatever difficult situation you may be in even more difficult. When you’re not happy most of the people around you tend to find out very quickly, usually because you can’t seem to keep your mouth shut about all the horrible awful things that are going wrong. This can cause several things to happen; the people you’re around the most can start dwelling on their negative problems and then you’re in a constant toxic environment or it can cause some of those around you to walk away from you which sends you into even more of a funk because you feel you’re support system doesn’t want to listen to you anymore. I’m not denying that whatever you’re going through is difficult. There have been many times in my life where all I want to do is give up, run away from everything I know and just ask God to send Jesus back so I don’t have to deal anymore. After all my crying, screaming, venting, complaining and self loathing, a still small voice speaks to my spirit and generally asks me if I’m about done yet. Yes God, I’m done having my pity party. Despite all my depression and fear I’m reminded to put on a praise song, to open my bible and at least read one verse, or to pop that old worn out Joyce Meyer CD in the CD player. Slowly but surely I always realize that God has never ever failed me! While I’m singing “you’re love never fails it never gives up…” Or ” great is thy faithfulness oh God my father…” He reminds me of different times in my life that I have felt exactly the same way as I do now. He reminds me if I would just choose to not look at my problem as a problem, but rather as Him changing things around in my life, removing something or someone, then my happy would come right back. Instead of being angry and thinking why me again, I would remember to say thank you God again, for keeping me safe, for making me stronger, for protecting my heart, for increasing my faith. The problem isn’t the problem itself, it’s my crappy attitude towards the problem (yes I said crappy). I got knocked down, but guess what I’m going to choose to be happy despite the bump in the road, I’m back up and I’m faithfully, happily, gratefully waiting for my victory. Instead of telling myself or everyone around me the bad, I start talking about the good things going on now and the good things God has brought me though in the past. After all in Revelation 12:11 it talks about how we overcome “And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony…” Jesus died for me already, so all I have to do to overcome my unhappiness is to start speaking those testimonies out loud. The longer the devil keeps you in your unhappy attitude the more he thinks he wins, don’t let him, get up and choose happy. You are the winner after all, God says in Romans 8:37 “Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.” Don’t waste another moment of your precious time on this earth giving the devil the satisfaction. Remind the devil of Gods goodness in your life, that will put a smile on your face in no time!

Leave a Reply

